Tuesday, June 8, 2010

June 8, 2010 : The Seven Seas

The Seven Seas

The phrase "Seven Seas" (as in the idiom "sail the Seven Seas") can refer either to a particular set of seven seas or to a great expanse of water in general. People from different time periods have meant different things by the phrase "Seven Seas".

In Medieval European literature, the Seven Seas referred to the following seas: the Mediterranean Sea, the Adriatic Sea, the Black Sea, the Red Sea, the Arabian Sea, the Persian Gulf, and the Caspian Sea.

Today however, the International Hydrographic Organization lists over 100 bodies of water known as seas.

No comments:

Post a Comment